UPDATE: Severe thunderstorm watch expires for most of Siouxland, storms move east

Weather News

UPDATE: The severe thunderstorm watch for most Siouxland counties has expired as the storm moves east.

The National Weather Service said a severe thunderstorm watch is now active until 2 p.m. for some eastern Siouxland counties, including Calhoun, Carroll, Crawford, Pocahontas, Sac.

Other Iowa Counties with a severe thunderstorm watch include Adair, Audubon, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Butler, Cass, Clarke, Dallas, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hardin, Humboldt, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, Wapello, Warren, Webster, and Wright counties.

A severe thunderstorm watch is in effect for multiple Siouxland Counties.

The National Weather Service issued the alert with is in effect until 11 a.m.

The watch is for Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Ida, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Sioux, and Woodbury counties in Iowa.

In Nebraska, it includes Burt, Cedar, Cuming, Thurston and Wayne counties.

The counties in South Dakota included are Bon Homme, Clay, Hutchinson, Lincoln, Turner, Union, and Yankton.

Scattered thunderstorms will be possible through mid-morning, mainly from the Interstate 90 corridor and southward. A few of these storms could become strong to severe, with hail to the size of half-dollars and wind gusts to 60 mph.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories