Tri-state politicians respond to riots at Capitol


SIOUX CITY, Iowa (KCAU) — Politicians from Iowa, Nebraska, and South Dakota have released statements on Trump protests at the Capitol.

The Senate has recessed its debate on Wednesday over an objection to the results of the Electoral College after protesters forced police to lock down the building.

If you are having trouble seeing this story in the app, click here.


Sen. Chuck Grassley

Sen. Joni Ernst

Rep. Ashley Hinson, District 1 of Iowa

Rep. Cindy Axne, District 3 of Iowa

Rep. Randy Feenstra, District 4 of Iowa

Jeff Kaufman, Iowa Republican Party Chair


Gov. Pete Ricketts

Sen. Ben Sasse

Sen. Deb Fischer

Congressman Adrian Smith (R-NE)

“As Americans, we believe the rule of law and protection of civil liberties differentiate our nation as the greatest on earth. While many protestors are exercising their constitutional right to be heard peacefully, I urge all protestors to do so and to follow the directions of law enforcement. We are working to ensure concerns about the conduct of the presidential election in several states are heard through the existing legal process, and illegal disruptions of this process are unacceptable and not constructive.”

Congressman Adrian Smith (R-NE)

Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, District 1 of Nebraska

Rep. Don Bacon, District 2 of Nebraska

South Dakota

Gov. Kristi Noem

Sen. John Thune

Sen. Mike Rounds

Rep. Dusty Johnson, District At-large

Latest Stories

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Washington DC Headlines

More Washington-DC

Local News

More Local News

Trending Stories