SIOUX CITY, Iowa (KCAU) – On January 6, 2021, rioters made their way into the nation’s Capitol to protest the 2020 election results.

Now, a year later, South Dakota, Iowa, and Nebraska lawmakers have released statements regarding the anniversary of the attack on Capitol Hill.

Sen. Chuck Grassley of Iowa

Rep. Randy Feenstra of Iowa’s Fourth Congressional District

“The strength of our Republic is found in the resolve of our people and the durability of our institutions. Today is not a day for partisan bickering or finger pointing. Rather, today should serve as a reminder that, like in communities all across Iowa, we are not defined by our political disagreements but by our common bonds of faith, family, community and country. My focus in Congress has, and will continue to be, on the issues that preserve and protect our great nation for future generations.”

Iowa (R) House Representative Randy Feenstra

Rep. Cindy Axne of Iowa’s Third Congressional District

Rep. Don Bacon of Nebraska’s Second Congressional District

A statement released by Rep. Bacon’s office stated that the combat veteran can not easily shake the image of the angry mob of supporters of President Donald Trump storming his place of work last January.

Read his statement below.

“They didn’t have a right to break in and do what they did. Let’s rein this back in.”

Nebraska (R) House Representative Don Bacon

South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem

Sen. John Thune of South Dakota

Sen. Mike Rounds of South Dakota

Rep. Dusty Johnson of South Dakota