Local News

Vermillion woman nominated for 'Spirit of Dakota' Award

VERMILLION, S.D. (KCAU) - The 32nd anniversary of the 'Spirit of Dakota' award has announced this year's nominees. One of them from our very own Siouxland. 

Eight outstanding women have been nominated by their communities to be honored at the Spirit of Dakota’s Award Banquet in Huron, South Dakota. 

The award is given to a woman who has demonstrated vision, courage, and strength of character in the development of her family, community and/or state.

Maxine Johnson from Vermillion, S.D. has been included in this year's nominees. 

The other nominees include Kay Ainslie from Philip, S.D., Marlys Davis from Parker, S.D., Bonnie Fuller from Lead, S.D., Patti Giebink from Sioux Falls, S.D., Barbara Rilling from Onida, S.D., Harriet Swedlund from Brookings. S.D., and Beverly Stabber Warne from Rapid City, S.D.

All eight women will be given distinguished recognition throughout the many activities planned including Tea in the afternoon in the country home of Rodney & Beckie Freeman, an art show open to the public in the lobby of the Huron Event Center from 4 to 7 p.m., a 5:30 p.m. social, and 6:30 p.m. banquet.

The winner receives an individually created framed bronze oval with the pioneer woman sculpted by South Dakota Artist Laureate Dale Lamphere and modeled after his nine-foot sculpture that stands outside the Crossroads Hotel. 

The winner will be chosen by a state-wide commission of First Lady Linda Daugaard, Pierre; Tona Rozum, Chair, Mitchell; Glenna Fouberg, Aberdeen; Julie Garreau, Eagle Butte; Jean Hunhoff, Yankton; Suzette Kirby, Sioux Falls; Marsha Sumpter, Kadoka; Ginger Thomson, Brookings; Judy Trzynka, Watertown; and Bev Wright, Turton.

Tickets for the banquet may be purchased at the Huron Chamber Office: 605-352-0000 or 1-800-487-6673.

More Stories

Latest News

Video Center