President approves disaster declaration for 30 Iowa counties

Local News

A Presidential Disaster Declaration for 30 Iowa counties including some in Siouxland has been approved by President Donald Trump.

Governor Kim Reynolds requested for the president to make a Disaster Declaration for Iowa counties on August 1 after being impacted by flooding and severe weather from June 6 through July 2. 

The counties included in the declaration are: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, and  Sioux. It also includes Adair, Buchanan, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Dallas, Delaware, Floyd, Hamilton, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Kossuth, Polk, Story, Warren, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek and Wright.

Through the declaration, federal funding will be provided through the Public Assistance Program, which allows for long-term federal recovery programs. Funds can also be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

The declaration also includes funding for hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. This should allow Iowa to take step to reduce risks for future disasters. 

Reynolds has also made another request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration after the storms that hit on July 19. The request asks for Individual Assistance for Marshall and Polk counties and Public Assistance for Lee, Marion, Marshall and Van Buren counties. It is still under review.

Click here to read more from the White House.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local News

Trending Stories