Opening day surprises as the Nebraska Legislature convenes

Local News

Nebraska’s 2019 legislative session opened Wednesday with a Siouxland lawmaker being ousted from her leadership role of a year ago. 

District 17 Senator Joni Albrecht of Thurston will not be serving as Business and Labor Committee chair this session.  Lawmakers chose Democrat Matt Hansen of Lincoln instead. 

Albrecht, a Republican, was elected in 2016 and represents Dakota, Thurston, and Wayne counties.

Norfolk Senator Jim Scheer will again serve as Speaker of the Legislature.  He says state expansion of Medicaid and property tax relief are just two of the big issues Nebraska’s unicameral will tackle this year.

“The hole that we are trying to dig out of about 100 million or so plus the cost of expanded Medicaid becomes an even bigger hole.  I think we have our problems cut out,” said Sen. Jim Scheer.

Nebraska lawmakers kicked off the 106th session by swearing in 13 new senators.  The 2019 session is scheduled to end in June.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Washington DC Headlines

More Washington-DC

Trending Stories