Local News

Disaster proclamation includes Sioux and Plymouth Counties

DES MOINES, Iowa - After issuing a disaster proclamation last week for nine Iowa Counties, Governor Kim Reynolds has declared it for five more Monday. 

The disaster proclamation is in response to the severe weather that started June 14. 

Counties included in the disaster proclamation are Plymouth, Sioux, Hancock, Humboldt, and Winnebago counties. 

The disaster proclamation allows for state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of the severe weather. Those state resources are the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant and Disaster Case Management programs.

If certain requirements are met, households can ask for grants up to $5,000 with the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant. households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three are eligible. The grants can be used for home or car repairs, replacing clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. People would need to supply the original receipts to recover expenses related to storm recovery. You can go to the Department of Human Services website to learn more and and apply. Applicants have 45 days from the day of proclamation to issue a claim.

 With the Disaster Case Management program, disaster case managers work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and similar help. This program ends 180 days after the proclamation. More information can be found on the Iowa Community Action website

Residents of counties impacted by the recent severe weather are asked to report damage to help local and state officials better understand the damage sustained. Damages can be reported through the following link: www.homelandsecurity.iowa.gov. This information will be collected by the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management and shared with local emergency management agencies.

More Stories

Latest News

Video Center