185th names Airmen of the Year winners

Local News
185 arw crest_1544047110058.JPG.jpg

Four members from the 185th Air Refueling Wing have been awarded the unit’s Airmen of Year awards. 

The four members were the winner for each of four categories. 

Airman 1st Class Marcus Turman has been selected as the Airman of the Year, Tech. Turman serves as a material management journeyman. He ensures that the base has all the necessary supplies. The 185th sadi that he tracked about 250 Mission Capability Support transactions. 

Sgt. Megan Vander Molen was selected as the Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year. Vander Molen is the Mission Support Group Contracting Specialist for the unit. She managed a budget of $1.5 million as the resource advisor during a six-month deployment. It involved 41 acquisitions to support 3,500 unit members and 75,000 transient personnel.

Master Sgt. Scott Schuler won in the category for Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year. Schuler was with the 133rd Test Squadron in Fort Dodge as the mission systems support superintendent. He helped to monitor transmissions and the airmen that repair communications equipment. 

Master Sgt. Trevor Modlin was selected as the 1st Sgt. of the Year. Modlin is the 1st Sgt. for the Logistics Readiness Squadron.  He helps to mentor airmen to make sure there is a mission head force.

“We are very humbled by the extraordinary accomplishments of our exceptional Airmen, and greatly appreciate the commitment they bring to assist our Air Guard family, state, and great Nation defend freedom at home and abroad,” said Command Chief Master Sgt. T.J. Fennell.

These four will now compete with other Air National Guard members in the state.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories