UPDATE: 15 more counties added to Iowa disaster proclamation

Iowa News
reynolds signs proclamation wide_1552593569982.jpg.jpg

UPDATE: More counties have been added the list of counties affected by flooding. 

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds added Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Plymouth, Adair, Bremer, Dallas, Fayette, Franklin, Fremont, Guthrie, Hardin, and Shelby counties to the disaster proclamation she signed Thursday. 

There were 21 counties that were named Thursday making the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and the Disaster Case Management Program available. 

PREVIOUS: Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation for counties affected by flooding and severe weather. 

The proclamation allows for state resources to be used to recover from the weather and flooding and allows residents to apply to the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents The 21 counties included are Woodbury, Monona, Harrison, Ida, Kossuth, O’Brien, Sioux, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Clayton, Hancock, Humboldt, Iowa, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright.   

Reynolds also activated Iowa’s State Emergency Operations Center to coordinate the response to Iowa’s flooding on Thursday. Along with state and federal agencies, the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management is watching conditions throughout the state. 

If certain requirements are met, households can ask for grants up to $5,000 with the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant. households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three are eligible. The grants can be used for home or car repairs, replacing clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. People would need to supply the original receipts to recover expenses related to storm recovery. You can go to the Department of Human Services website to learn more and apply. Applicants have until April 29, 2019 to issue a claim.

 With the Disaster Case Management program, disaster case managers work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and similar help. This program ends 180 days after the proclamation. More information can be found on the Iowa Community Action website.

Residents of counties impacted by the recent severe weather are asked to report damage to help local and state officials better understand the damage sustained. Damages can be reported through by clicking here. This information will be collected by the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management and shared with local emergency management agencies.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.